Scientific Advisory Board



Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine
Chairman of Internal Medicine, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


David H. Johnson, M.D. is the Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center where he holds the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine. From 1983 to 2010, he was a member of the faculty at the Vanderbilt University Medical School where he held the Cornelius A. Craig Chair of Medical and Surgical Oncology and served as the Director of the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology and Deputy Director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center of which he was a founding member. Dr. Johnson’s research interests involve understanding the biology of lung cancer and improving the treatment of this and other solid tumors. He played a key role in the development of the targeted drugs bevacizumab (Avastin) and erlotinib (Tarceva), both of which are now FDA-approved for the treatment of lung cancer. Dr. Johnson has authored more than 350 journal articles and 40 book chapters and edited four oncology textbooks. He earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia and obtained his medical oncology training at Vanderbilt University.